Wednesday, 27 August 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (#60)

 "Waiting on" Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.


 

Expected publication: April 28th 2015 by ATOM
 
 
 






Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire



I *cough* much prefer the UK cover, because you know, it hasn't got the feel of The Nightmare Affair.


What're you waiting on?


21 comments:

  1. Whoa! This is the first I've heard of this. It sounds amazing!!! Thanks for posting it, I've added it to me Goodreads shelves. Thanks for stopping by :)

    Michelle @ Michelle's Minions

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing!

    Hallie @ Book by Book

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooh...something new. I hadn't heard of this one before, but it does sound like my type of book. Thanks for spotlighting it.

    Grace @ Books of Love

    ReplyDelete
  4. The synopsis for this book gives me flashbacks of Laini Taylor's books, and I only read the first two but I'm not a huge fan >.< I'll still probably try reading it though since it's recommended for fans of 'City of Bones' and 'Shadow and Bone'.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Gorgeous cover!! Thanks for sharing!

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  6. I thought I've seen this book with another cover so I was a bit confused at first. This cover is gorgeous :) Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  7. This cover is breathtaking! It sounds really interesting too! Great pick. :D

    Amber @ The Book Bratz
    My Waiting on Wednesday

    ReplyDelete
  8. That cover is amazing! I would love to see what this book is like
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh, I didn't realize it was this book! Haha. I'm used to purple cover. I can't wait to read The Girl at Midnight! Great pick Kirsty!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I haven't heard about this one! It sounds really good. I can't wait for your review! Thanks for stopping by my corner of the internet:)

    Happy Reading
    Kal-El @ the BookGeekBeauty

    ReplyDelete
  11. I haven't heard of this one before, but it sounds interesting. I hope you enjoy reading it.
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  12. This is new to me but I'm feeling it! Always looking for a unique paranormal read with something different like the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins! Sounds cool!

    Jennifer @ Some Like It Paranormal

    ReplyDelete
  13. Interesting set-up. I hope you'll enjoy this one when it comes out. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my WoW :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. OOOoo I haven't heard of this one but I'm glad you've brought it to my attention! It sounds, and looks, fantastic. Totally adding this to my list.
    Thanks for sharing and stopping by :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. This is my first time seeing the UK cover! Very pretty! I'm definitely excited for this one, too.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I NEED this one. I get a Daughter of Smoke and Bone vibe from it.

    (our cover is MUCH prettier than the US cover. there's too much going on in the other one. but maybe i'm biased because of my love of FEATHERS)

    ReplyDelete
  17. This is first time I've across a YA Paranormal bird where the paranormal beings are part-birds.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    ReplyDelete
  18. I love the cover, great pick! :) Thanks for stopping by my blog (:

    Jackie @Jackie's Book World

    ReplyDelete
  19. Ohh, I hadn't seen this cover before! I am definitely intrigued by the whole concept of it, and Echo sounds pretty badass too. Great pick!

    Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight

    ReplyDelete
  20. Haven't heard of this one yet, but it made it's way onto my TBR list before I even finished reading the blurb. Great pick.

    Dreams @ Once Upon A Dream Books

    ReplyDelete
  21. YESSS!!! This was my WoW a few weeks ago, and I can't wait to read it! It sounds so awesome! Great pick this week, Kirsty! :)

    ReplyDelete