Monday, 20 April 2015

DNF Review: Trouble from the Start

Trouble from the Start
Publication Date: April 28th 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
~A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review~

One of two companion novels from beach-read favorite Rachel Hawthorne, this cute, romantic paperback original is about a good girl who falls for a bad guy.

Avery knows better than to fall for Fletcher, the local bad boy who can’t seem to outrun his reputation. Fletcher knows he shouldn’t bother with college-bound, daughter-of-a-cop Avery. But when their paths cross, neither can deny the spark. Are they willing to go against everything and let their hearts lead the way? Or are they just flirting with disaster?

Trouble from the Start releases simultaneously with companion novel The Boyfriend Project. These heartwarming paperback originals are the perfect summer reads, great for fans of Jennifer Echols, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti

If I talked about everything I hated in the first 50% from the Trouble From the Start (which is a lot) this DNF review would be way too long, so I'll get straight to the point with a list review. Also, warning, there's some swearing.

  • That goody two shoes main character in the name of...what's her name, shit, I have forgotten her name already. Avery. That's it. So memorable she is.
  • Avery's holier-than-thou attitude. Seriously. Just fuck off.
  • The constant reminder that she's really smart. Like really smart, just in case we forget.
  • She doesn't seem that smart.
  • Avery judging everyone, all the girls who are not up to her standards are all ditzy-I-want-sex-girls, and are obviously not worth anything. I mean, I got the impression she didn't like her own best friend when she had an opinion that wasn't the same as hers. Because Avery's opinion is law, guys. L.A.W. Alrighty then.
  • The insta-lust. The moment Fletcher starts paying attention to her all she can think about is how he smells, how he feels, how he's sooooo mysterious. How he doesn't tell her anything. Dude, you may "know" each other from school, and you may "know" his reputation, but you basically met him five minutes ago, of course he's going to tell you every little thing about himself... Let's not forget that pesky little electricity up the arm when his arm brushes hers.  
  • Fletcher's just as bad.  I wasn't going to do any quotes, but here, this one.
 "The girls I'm usually with...they don't care about their reputations. Or they care but they care about being popular or desired or...they don't care about the things you do. You're different."

So fucking special.

  • The stunted unnatural dialogue. It felt awkward and stiff, you couldn't imagine anyone-never mind the characters-actually speaking or having the conversation the way they did. And some parts felt more tell than show.
  • Some things were just ridiculous.
Like this one scene. A popular character named Morgan, who wants to hook up with Fletcher at a party, blah blah blah, Fletcher says he likes Avery. Morgan says your loss. Morgan then proceeds to go into the girls toilets, where Avery happens to be and tells her to tell Fletcher she doesn't like him so she can hook up with him at the party.

I just-what the fuck? I know this is fictional, but seriously, guys, does that actually happen in real life or did my high school years lie to me?
  •  Again, it's ridiculous, and it was trouble from the start. 

What's the last ridiculous book you read?